watch out

With warm temperatures on the decline, daylight hours decreasing and sunny weather more infrequent I take every opportunity to leave my Cockatiel Leal (pronounced Leh-arl) on the back verandah.  I stay with him or close by as hawks are in the area and often sit in the large gumtree on the next block within clear sight of our place.

 

The other day I went inside to begin preparing our next meal when I heard Leal squawk in a way I had never heard. Curious and slightly worried I went to see how he was and found a kookaburra sitting on the railing next to the little birdbath watching him. Leal was at the opposite end of the cage with his back to the kookaburra; silent and still.

The kookaburra didn’t even flinch when I appeared and did not move until I was half a metre away waving my arms and telling him to ‘shoo’. Even then he only went as far as the wire next to the house.

Despite Leal now being inside he remained there for the next half hour  and wasn’t the least bit worried about me coming onto the verandah, content to watch and wait.

 

 

Kookaburras (both the Blue-winged Kookaburra  and the Laughing Kookaburra ) are not native to Tasmania. The Blue-winged Kookaburra is found in northern Australia and the Laughing Kookaburra was originally found in eastern Australia but has been introduced to Tasmania and Western Australia.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

